Oulipost #28: Melting Snowball

Today’s challenge:”A text in which each word has one letter less than the preceding one, and the last word only one letter.”

Sometimes I hope that I am creating some real art, somewhere in the midst of all these challenges, so in honor of that:

Real Art

Characterization –
impressionistic
interpretation.
Sophisticated
storytellers
reassembled
compelling
snapshots.
Disarray
focuses
secret
power,
real
art.

As
I.

Sources from The New York Times 04/28/14. Kennedy, Randy. “Museum Draws Donatello From Italy,”  pp. C1, C6.  Kakutani, Michiko. “Two Brothers in the Icy Grip of Midlife,” pp. C1 and C4. Oestrich, James R. “A Conductor, Rehired, Now Must Rebuild,” pp. C1 and C6.  Parker, Laura. “A Gaming Company Devoted to Narrative Tackles ‘Thrones,'” pp. C1 and C2.  Healy, Patrick. “Hoping to End a Dubious Streak,” pp. C1 and C2.

3 thoughts on “Oulipost #28: Melting Snowball

  1. I wondered how you were going to end it [I was good. I did not look ahead]. Clever. [Pause to check own comments — there’s Barbara!]. You managed a story that sounds as if were from a single source. Neat trick.

  2. Thanks, Margo and Carol. This is one that I felt satisfying when I posted it, which certainly doesn’t happen every time for me. I haven’t yet gone back over the whole month’s worth of poems for the Wednesday challenge, but I’ll be interested to see the path all this has taken. (Notice how I have jumped right over the Tuesday challenge – i have no clue…)

Leave a Reply

